Catherine Meeks

by Zuddhi Yoga

Zuddhi Yoga Instructor

Monday 9-10p at Tennessee Bouldering Authority (St Elmo/Lookout Mountain)

I started my formal yoga journey in 2001 while in college in Rome, Georgia, and found wonderful teachers in Missoula, Montana and St. Louis before moving to Chattanooga in 2008. Last year, I decided to deepen my practice by beginning the 230-hour Teacher Training through the Asheville Yoga Center, which I’ll finish in June 2011. I look at the practice of yoga as a way to uncover and build connections: between the mind, the breath, and the body; between ourselves and others; between who we are, how we live, and the places we inhabit. As a writer, I appreciate the importance of the “beginner’s mind” that invites true inspiration and growth; I try to approach both the page and the mat with a spirit of curiosity and openness. I also teach writing as a Lecturer in the English Department at the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga.

